About Habitusliving


Habitus is a movement for living in design. We’re an intelligent community of original thinkers in constant search of native uniqueness in our region.


From our base in Australia, we strive to capture the best edit, curating the stories behind the stories for authentic and expressive living.


Habitusliving.com explores the best residential architecture and design in Australia and Asia Pacific.


Learn more

Entries Are Open To The 2020 Sustainability Awards

The 2020 programme for the Sustainability Awards is set to be a markedly different affair from the previous year – not least due to its first-time venture down to Melbourne in its 14th year.

In the seven months since the Sustainability Awards announced their 2019 winner, we have seen momentous disruption to our industry and the wider community, both domestically and internationally. As such sustainability and environmentally-sustainable design has not been immune from the huge shifts we have seem both at home and abroad.

However, while news on the climate has somewhat slowed down during the global pandemic, the fact remains that sustainable design is now more important than ever, both environmentally and economically.

With that said, we are excited to see entries open to the 2020 Sustainability Awards.

Now in its 14th year of Architecture & Design running the awards, this year there will be 16 categories, some of which will include brand-new categories such as Sustainable Emerging Architect / Designer, Smart Building and Urban & Landscape.

Along with those changes, this year there will be seven Ambassadors for the awards in addition to the seven esteemed jury members. Once again the Sustainability Awards is at the forefront of the industry and its needs.

This year, for the first time ever, the awards night will be held in Melbourne realising the programme’s constant desire to recognise and reward the pinnacle of sustainable design in Australia.

During the day, the Sustainability Summit will bring together the highest calibre of ideas and innovation and we are all invited and encouraged to be an integral part of it.

To ensure that your entry is directed to the correct category, the 16 2020 Sustainability Awards categories are as follows:



Emerging Sustainable Architect / Designer

Lifetime Achievement

Women in Sustainability


Commercial Architecture (Large)

Commercial Architecture (Small)

Education & Research

Urban & Landscape

Multiple Dwelling

Single Dwelling (New)

Single Dwelling (Alteration)

Prefab & Modular

Best Adaptive Reuse

Best of the Best


Green Building Material

Waste Elimination

Smart Building

Sustainability Awards

Image: Welcome to the Jungle House by CplusC Architectural Workshop, 2019 winner Single Dwelling (New)

Tags: ,